Ten Reasons Why It’s Okay to Admit You’re in Recovery

And how to get more comfortable saying it.

Kinley Slayed
6 min readOct 4, 2023
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

I didn’t admit I was in recovery from alcoholism for a long time, which was my first mistake.

There’s a weird stigma with party folk. When you’re inebriated, you’re in. If you’re sober, you’re out. At least, that’s how I always felt.

When your entire identity revolves around your alcoholism, admitting you’re in recovery comes with another type of stigma that I didn’t feel comfortable dealing with. Especially sober.

I didn’t want to be that person with issues. The person no one was comfortable around — especially my drinking crowd.

I never wanted to acknowledge my alcoholism or my recovery. I didn’t want to talk about it one way or the other. I swept it neatly under the carpet. Out of sight, out of mind.

The solo approach with no admission, help, or support inevitably results in relapse, and the cycle starts again.

Author’s mad cycle

While in recovery or embracing sobriety, it’s much easier to admit you no longer drink. Because you don’t.

--

--

Kinley Slayed

Writer, photographer, poet, musician, cat lover, survivor. Taking it one day at a time.